Carol Anderson

Historian, Educator, Author

Eyes Off the Prize: The United Nations and the African American Struggle for Huma Rights, 1944-1955 (2003)

Bourgeois Radicals: The NCAAP and the Struggle for Colonial Liberation, 1941-1960 (2014)

White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide (2016)

One Person, No Vote: How Voter Suppression is Destroying Our Democracy (2018)

The Second [Amendment] (2021)

Carol Anderson on Amazon

Carol Anderson

Alice Walker

Novels and short story collections

  • The Third Life of Grange Copeland (1970)
  • In Love and Trouble: Stories of Black Women (1973, includes “Everyday Use”)
  • Meridian (1976)
  • The Color Purple (1982)
  • You Can’t Keep a Good Woman Down: Stories (1982)
  • To Hell With Dying (1988)
  • The Temple of My Familiar (1989)
  • Finding the Green Stone (1991)
  • Possessing the Secret of Joy (1992)
  • The Complete Stories (1994)
  • By the Light of My Father’s Smile (1998)
  • The Way Forward Is with a Broken Heart (2000)
  • Now Is the Time to Open Your Heart (2004)

Poetry collections

  • Once (1968)
  • Revolutionary Petunias and Other Poems (1973)
  • Good Night, Willie Lee, I’ll See You in the Morning (1979)
  • Horses Make a Landscape Look More Beautiful (1985)
  • Her Blue Body Everything We Know: Earthling Poems (1991)
  • Absolute Trust in the Goodness of the Earth (2003)
  • A Poem Traveled Down My Arm: Poems And Drawings (2003)
  • Collected Poems (2005)
  • Hard Times Require Furious Dancing: New Poems (2010)
  • Taking the Arrow Out of the Heart (2018)

Non-fiction books

  • In Search of Our Mothers’ Gardens: Womanist Prose (1983)
  • Living by the Word (1988)
  • Warrior Marks (1993)
  • The Same River Twice: Honoring the Difficult (1996)
  • Anything We Love Can Be Saved: A Writer’s Activism (1997)
  • Go Girl!: The Black Woman’s Book of Travel and Adventure (1997)
  • Pema Chodron and Alice Walker in Conversation (1999)
  • Sent By Earth: A Message from the Grandmother Spirit After the Bombing of the World Trade Center and Pentagon (2001)
  • We Are the Ones We Have Been Waiting For (2006)
  • Overcoming Speechlessness (2010)
  • Chicken Chronicles, A Memoir (2011)
  • The cushion in the road – Meditation and wandering as the whole world awakens to be in harm’s way (2013)


  • “Beauty: When the Other Dancer is the Self” (1983)

Alice Walker on Amazon

Alice Walker

Piers Paul Read


Game in Heaven with Tussy Marx (1966)

The Junkers (1968)

Monk Dawson (1969)

The Professor’s Daughter (1971)

The Upstart (1973)

Polonaise (1976)

A Married Man (1979)

The Villa Golitsyn (1981)

The Free Frenchman (1986)

A Season in the West (1988)

On the Third Day (1990)

A Patriot in Berlin (1995)

Knights of the Cross (1997)

Alice in Exile (2001)

The Death of a Pope (2009)

The Misogynist (2010)

Scarpia (2015)


Alive: The Story of the Andes Survivors (1974)

The Train Robbers (1978)

Ablaze: The Story of Chernobyl (1993)

The Templars: The Dramatic History of the Knights Templar, the Most Powerful Military Order of the Crusades (1999)

Alec Guinness. The Authorised Biography (2003)

Hell and Other Destinations (2006)

The Dreyfus Affair: The Story of the Most Infamous Miscarriage of Justice in French History (2012)

Piers Paul Read on Amazon

Piers Paul Read

Isabel Allende


The House of the Spirits (1982)

The Porcelain Fat Lady (1984)

Of Love and Shadows (1985)

Eva Luna (1987)

Two Words (1989)

The Stories of Eva Luna (1989)

The Infinite Plan (1991)

Daughter of Fortune (1999)

Portrait in Sepia (2000)

City of the Beasts (2002)

Kingdom of the Golden Dragon (2004)

Zorro (2005)

Forest of the Pygmies (2005)

Ines of My Soul (2006)

Island Beneath the Sea (2010)

Maya’s Notebook (2011)

Ripper (2014)

The Japanese Lover (2015)

In the Midst of Winter (2017)

A Long Petal of the Sea (2019)


Paula (1994)

Aphrodite: A Memoir of the Senses (1998)

My Invented Country: A Memoir (2003)

The Sum of Our Days: A Memoir (2008)

The Soul of a Woman (2021)

Isabel Allende on Amazon

Isabel Allende

Adam Fletcher

Tuk-tuk for Two (2020)

Don’t Come Back (2019)

Understanding the British (2019)

Fast Philosophy (2018)

Don’t Go There (2017)

How to Be German 2 (2016)

Make Me German (2015)

The Freedom Figure (2015)

How to Be German (2014)

Denglish for Better Knowers (2014)

A Picnic for Perverts (2012)

Adam Fletcher on Amazon

Adam Fletcher